Each year, I go division by division and nominate who I believe is each team’s candidate for the major NFL awards and then we discuss/declare who the division’s major award winner is for the season…and that player goes onto the divisional Final Four with a chance to go to the Super Bowl/Finals for a chance to be declared my seasonal award winner.

We go division-by-division each day, then to the Final Four for each conference, then the finals to name our winner the day the NFL announces their winners. *And my choices are usually different up and down the line in each category, so enjoy a different take on the NFL awards.


*MVP (any position, but usually offense)

**Coach of the Year (any coach on the staff, not just the head coach)




NFL Finals/Super Bowl: 2023 Season Awards Tournament: MVP


AFC Finals Winner = QB Josh Allen, BUF

NFC Finals Winner = QB Brock Purdy, SF


As much as I respect the heck out of what Brock Purdy has accomplished and what he means to the 49ers, Josh Allen just had the best season of any QB in 2023. 44 combined TDs, high level passing, a division title. It has to go to Josh Allen. How Lamar Jackson is getting this award over Allen from the mainstream, I have no idea.


The 2023 FFM Award Winner = QB Josh Allen, BUF




AFC Finals: 2023 Season Awards Tournament: Rookie of the Year


AFC Finals Winner = QB C.J. Stroud, HOU

NFC Finals Winner = WR Puka Nacua, LAR


As great and historic as Puka’s 2023 was...I have never seen a greater rookie performance, considering the position played, than what Stroud did this past season. It may never be matched again for years/decades...that definitely deserves the award for 2023. AND the mainstream will agree...this is the only one we’ll have agreement on with the actual voting.


The 2023 FFM Award Winner = QB C.J. Stroud, HOU




AFC Finals: 2023 Season Awards Tournament: Defensive Player of the Year


AFC Finals Winner = CB L’Jarius Sneed, KC

NFC Finals Winner = DE Montez Sweat, CHI


Montez Sweat may have been the best defensive player in the 2nd-half of the season (once traded to the Bears), but Sneed was great all year...a terrific season shutting down opposing WRs. His tape says it and the analytics/stats say he was great. Sneed gets the win.

I think the mainstream will vote in T.J. Watt here.


The 2023 FFM Award Winner = CB L’Jarius Sneed, KC




AFC Finals: 2023 Season Awards Tournament: Coach of the Year


AFC Finals Winner = HC John Harbaugh, BAL

NFC Finals Winner = HC Sean McVay, LAR


Both coaches are deserving, but the reason I will lean to McVay is – Harbaugh was great again, but we don’t know how much of this was on (now ‘former’) D-C Mike MacDonald. The job the Ravens pulled on defense this year was excellent. Harbaugh deserves credit for hiring it and managing it, but for as good a job as Harbaugh always does...Sean McVay was a damn miracle worker across the board. Everyone thought the Rams were tanking this summer. The Rams started several rookies and found a few good, mercenary free agents off the scrap heap and polished them up for some great contributions and seasons.

If you had told me in August 2023 that Baltimore was gonna win the AFC North AND that Joe Burrow was gonna miss most of the season, I wouldn’t have blinked at the notion. But if you would have told me that the Rams would lose Cooper Kupp early and Puka Nacua and Demarcus Robinson were their WR leaders down the stretch and Kobie Turner would be a top DROY candidate and Byron Young as well plus they would’ve had a kicking carousel of issues all season – but that by the end of the season I would think that they were the 2nd best team in the NFL...no way I would have believed that. Thus, Sean McVay earns my vote.

...in a season where Jared Goff should’ve gone to the Super Bowl with the Lions.

How ironic.

The mainstream will likely vote it for Demeco Ryans.


The 2023 FFM Award Winner = HC Sean McVay, LAR