Each year, I go division by division and nominate who I believe is each team’s candidate for the major NFL awards and then we discuss/declare who the division’s major award winner is for the season…and that player goes onto the divisional Final Four with a chance to go to the Super Bowl/Finals for a chance to be declared my seasonal award winner.

We go division-by-division each day, then to the Final Four for each conference, then the finals to name our winner the day the NFL announces their winners. *And my choices are usually different up and down the line in each category, so enjoy a different take on the NFL awards.


*MVP (any position, but usually offense)

**Coach of the Year (any coach on the staff, not just the head coach)




AFC South: 2023 Season Awards Tournament: MVP


HOU: QB C.J. Stroud

IND: QB Gardner Minshew

JAX: QB Trevor Lawrence

TEN: RB Derrick Henry 


Derrick Henry was the most important Titan in 2023, but he was neutralized by the O-Line among other things...he can’t win this.

Of the battle of QBs in this division, there is obviously one clear winner...it doesn’t need any more explanation.


AFC South Winner = QB C.J. Stroud, HOU




AFC South: 2023 Season Awards Tournament: Rookie of the Year


HOU: QB C.J. Stroud

IND: QB Anthony Richardson

JAX: OT Anton Harrison

TEN: QB Will Levis


We all know who is winning this, but I just want to point out for a moment – imagine if Richardson and Levis both played a full season... I wonder if either, Richardson especially, might have won the division/ROY in a full year of play?

2024+ in the AFC South is gonna be ‘lit’ as the kids say. I think they still say that?


AFC South Winner = QB C.J. Stroud, HOU




AFC South: 2023 Season Awards Tournament: Defensive Player of the Year


HOU: EDGE Jonathan Greenard

IND: LB Zaire Franklin

JAX: LB Foyesade Oluokun

TEN: LB Azeez Al-Shaair


Three stalwart middle linebackers and one of the better pass rushers in the NFL fight for the AFC South DPOY.

Greenard had a good season, not a great one...so, I will throw him out of the race and see which middle linebacker emerges for the nod.

As I look at their season’s Franklin and Oluokun were 1-2 in solo tackles in the NFL this season and both with fairly similar numbers across the board. Digging deeper, Oluokun had way more TFLs and QB hits and a better coverage rating and Comp. Pct. allowed over Franklin...so, Oluokun gets the vote.


AFC South Winner = LB Foyesade Oluokun, JAX




AFC South: 2023 Season Awards Tournament: Coach of the Year


HOU: O-C Bobby Slowik

IND: HC Shane Steichen

JAX: HC Doug Pederson

TEN: HC Mike Vrabel


Mike Vrabel is instantly out...one of the worst coaching jobs of 2023...a running theme of ex-Belichick associates this season...and why none of them, including ‘Bill’ seem to be getting jobs in 2024.

Doug Pederson had the opposite thing happen to him late this season as it did last season...in 2022, the Jags went on a tear and won the division out of nowhere. In 2023, the Jags blew a lead and a possible #1 seed with a late season fall. Not this year for Pederson.

Bobby Slowik did a nice job with the Houston offense, but anyone could’ve coached C.J. Stroud.

Somewhat by default, and a lot because he earned it – Shane Steichen was one bad play call in Week 18 from winning the division. And they almost got the division with a backup QB and Gus Bradley as the defensive coordinator, which is a miracle. A great job turned in by Steichen.


AFC South Winner = HC Shane Steichen, IND


The winners in each category move on to the conference finals to determine which of them goes onto the AFC v. NFC finals in each award category for the FFM named winners for 2023 season.